the official portal for the United Arab Emirates,

Kingdom of Bahrain the official portal for Kingdom of Bahrain

Kuwait the official portal for Kuwait

Saudi Arabia the official portal for the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Oman the official portal for Oman

Qatar the official portal for Qatar

Home   >>   GCC


Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (GCC) is a regional organisation. Its member countries are:
  1. United Arab Emirates
  2. Kingdom of Bahrain
  3. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  4. State of Kuwait
  5. Sultanate of Oman
  6. Qatar
The GCC was formed when its leaders converged in Abu Dhabi, UAE on May 25, 1981 to form a cooperative organisation that aimed at coordination, integration and interdependence between their countries in various fields.
The city of Riyadh in Saudi Arabia was decided upon as the headquarters of the Council, although the meeting could be held in any of the six countries.
The Supreme Council is the supreme authority, consisting of the heads of member states. Its presidency rotates among members states based on the alphabetical order of their names. 
The GCC meets once every year for regular session and may hold extraordinary sessions at the request of any member provided it is seconded by another member.